GA1 - INDIAN HISTORY AND INDIAN FREEDOM MOVEMENT

1.	The ancient	city of	Mohenjo-Da	ro is located	d in present-	day:

- a) India
- b) Pakistan
- c) Bangladesh
- d) Nepal
- 2. The Battle of Plassey was fought in the year:
 - a) 1757
 - b) 1857
 - c) 1657
 - d) 1957
- 3. The capital of the Gupta Empire was:
 - a) Pataliputra
 - b) Magadha
 - c) Vaishali
 - d) Ujjain
- 4. The famous Sanchi Stupa is located in the state of:
 - a) Uttar Pradesh
 - b) Madhya Pradesh
 - c) Bihar
 - d) Rajasthan
- 5. The Indian National Congress was founded in the year:
 - a) 1857

- b) 1885
- c) 1905
- d) 1947
- 6. The leader of the Revolt of 1857, also known as the First War of Independence, was:
 - a) Rani Lakshmibai
 - b) Bahadur Shah II
 - c) Mangal Pandey
 - d) Tatya Tope
- 7. The Chola dynasty was prominent in which region of India?
 - a) North India
 - b) South India
 - c) East India
 - d) West India
- 8. Who was the first Governor-General of India?
 - a) Lord Curzon
 - b) Lord Cornwallis
 - c) Warren Hastings
 - d) Lord William Bentinck
- 9. The famous Ajanta Caves are located in the state of:
 - a) Maharashtra
 - b) Karnataka
 - c) Madhya Pradesh
 - d) Gujarat

10.	Who was the Mughal emperor who built the Taj Mahal? a) Akbar b) Shah Jahan c) Aurangzeb d) Babur
11.	The Harappan Civilization is also known as the: a) Indus Valley Civilization b) Vedic Civilization c) Aryan Civilization d) Dravidian Civilization
12. L	The Indian emperor who sent Buddhist missions to Sri anka, Southeast Asia, and Greece was: a) Ashoka b) Chandragupta Maurya c) Kanishka d) Harsha
13. w	The Battle of Panipat in 1526 led to the establishment of hich dynasty in India? a) Mughal b) Gupta c) Maratha d) Vijayanagara
14.	The first British Viceroy of India was: a) Lord Mountbatten b) Lord Dalhousie

c) Lord	Canning
d) Lord	Cornwallis

15.	The Bhakti Movement in	India was chiefly	propagated by:

- a) Guru Nanak
- b) Shankaracharya
- c) Ramanuja
- d) Chaitanya Mahaprabhu
- 16. The Treaty of Bassein was signed between the British East India Company and:
 - a) Marathas
 - b) Mughals
 - c) Sikhs
 - d) French
- 17. The Indian emperor who was known as 'Vikramaditya' was:
 - a) Ashoka
 - b) Chandragupta II
 - c) Harsha
 - d) Akbar
- 18. The 'Quit India Movement' was launched in the year:
 - a) 1919
 - b) 1942
 - c) 1930
 - d) 1947

19.	The famous Jallianwala Bagh massacre occurred in the city
0	f:
	a) Delhi
	b) Lahore
	c) Amritsar
	d) Kolkata
20.	Who was the first woman President of the Indian National
(Congress?
	a) Annie Besant
	b) Sarojini Naidu
	c) Indira Gandhi
	d) Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit
21.	The Aryans settled in India during the:
	a) Paleolithic Age
	b) Mesolithic Age
	c) Neolithic Age
	d) Bronze Age
22.	The Indian National Army (INA) was formed by:
	a) Bhagat Singh
	b) Subhas Chandra Bose
	c) Jawaharlal Nehru
	d) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
23.	The architect of the Constitution of India was:
	a) Mahatma Gandhi
	b) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar

- c) Jawaharlal Nehru
- d) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
- 24. The first Muslim invader of India was:
 - a) Mahmud of Ghazni
 - b) Muhammad bin Qasim
 - c) Babur
 - d) Tamerlane
- 25. Who is considered the father of Indian cinema?
 - a) Dadasaheb Phalke
 - b) Satyajit Ray
 - c) Bimal Roy
 - d) Raj Kapoor
- 26. The Indian leader who was popularly known as the 'Iron Man of India' was:
 - a) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
 - b) Subhas Chandra Bose
 - c) Lal Bahadur Shastri
 - d) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
- 27. The Mauryan Emperor Ashoka embraced which religion after the Kalinga War?
 - a) Hinduism
 - b) Buddhism
 - c) Jainism
 - d) Zoroastrianism

28.	The Indian leader who played a pivotal role in the formation	n
of th	he Non-Aligned Movement was:	

- a) Jawaharlal Nehru
- b) Indira Gandhi
- c) Rajiv Gandhi
- d) Morarji Desai
- 29. The official language of the Mughal court was:
 - a) Urdu
 - b) Persian
 - c) Arabic
 - d) Sanskrit
- 30. Who was the founder of the Maurya Empire?
 - a) Chandragupta Maurya
 - b) Ashoka
 - c) Bindusara
 - d) Chanakya

INDIAN FREEDOM MOVEMENT

- 1. Who founded the Indian National Congress in 1885?
 - a) Mahatma Gandhi
 - b) Jawaharlal Nehru
 - c) Dadabhai Naoroji
 - d) A.O. Hume
- 2. The partition of Bengal was annulled in:
 - a) 1905
 - b) 1911

c) 1919	
d) 1947	
3. The Simon Commission was appointed in:	
a) 1919	
b) 1927	
c) 1928	
d) 1935	
4. Who was known as the "Frontier Gandhi"	?
a) Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan	
b) Mohammad Ali Jinnah	
c) Subhas Chandra Bose	
d) Bhagat Singh	
5. The Jallianwala Bagh massacre occurred i	n
a) 1919	

	c) Sabhas Chahara Bose
	d) Bhagat Singh
5.	The Jallianwala Bagh massacre occurred in which year?
	a) 1919
	b) 1920
	c) 1921
	d) 1922
6.	Who coined the term "Satyagraha"?
	a) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
	b) Mahatma Gandhi
	c) Jawaharlal Nehru
	d) Rabindranath Tagore
7.	The Quit India Movement was launched in: a) 1919

- b) 1920
- c) 1930
- d) 1942
- 8. The Indian National Army (INA) was founded by:
 - a) Subhas Chandra Bose
 - b) Bhagat Singh
 - c) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
 - d) Jawaharlal Nehru
- 9. The "Dandi March" was led by Mahatma Gandhi as a protest against:
 - a) Salt Tax
 - b) Land revenue
 - c) Indigo cultivation
 - d) British education system
- 10. The first session of the Indian National Congress was held in:
 - a) Bombay
 - b) Calcutta
 - c) Madras
 - d) Allahabad
- 11. Who was the first President of the Indian National Congress?
 - a) Dadabhai Naoroji
 - b) Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee
 - c) Surendranath Banerjee
 - d) Allan Octavian Hume

12.	Who was known as the "Grand Old Man of India"? a) Bal Gangadhar Tilak b) Dadabhai Naoroji c) Gopal Krishna Gokhale d) Lala Lajpat Rai
13.	The Rowlatt Act was passed in: a) 1917 b) 1919 c) 1920 d) 1922
14.	The Home Rule Movement was started by: a) Annie Besant and Bal Gangadhar Tilak b) Mahatma Gandhi and Jawaharlal Nehru c) Subhas Chandra Bose and Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel d) Lala Lajpat Rai and Bipin Chandra Pal
15.	Who was the first Governor-General of independent India? a) Lord Mountbatten b) C. Rajagopalachari c) Jawaharlal Nehru d) Dr. Rajendra Prasad
16. (Co	The Indian National Congress declared Purna Swaraj omplete Independence) in which year? a) 1919 b) 1929 c) 1931

- d) 1942
- 17. Who was the first woman President of the Indian National Congress?
 - a) Sarojini Naidu
 - b) Annie Besant
 - c) Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit
 - d) Sucheta Kriplani
- 18. The Poona Pact was signed between Dr. B.R. Ambedkar and which other leader?
 - a) Jawaharlal Nehru
 - b) Mahatma Gandhi
 - c) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
 - d) Rajendra Prasad
- 19. The Lahore Resolution, demanding a separate nation for Muslims, was passed in which year?
 - a) 1930
 - b) 1940
 - c) 1942
 - d) 1947
- 20. Who was known as the "Iron Man of India"?
 - a) Jawaharlal Nehru
 - b) Bhagat Singh
 - c) Subhas Chandra Bose
 - d) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel