Japanese Writing System

The Japanese scripts consists of three different character sets: **Kanji** (several thousands of Chinese characters) and **Hiragana** and **Katakana** (two syllabaries of 46 original characters and some derived syllabaries each; together called **Kana**). **Kanji** characters are pronounced through **Hiragana** while non-native Japanese words (e.g. English, French, German, Bengali, and Hindi etc.) can be expressed using **Katakana**. Japanese texts can be written in two ways: In western style i.e. horizontal rows from top to bottom of the page or in traditional Japanese style i.e. in vertical columns from the right to left side of the page. Both writing styles exist side by side at this present age.



Apart from these traditional scripts a fourth script also exists which is targeted at non-Japanese speakers who cannot read **Kanji** or **Kana**. Thus it is used to transliterate Japanese terms in text written in English. This method of writing is referred to as **Rõmaji** i.e. Romanization of Japanese language using Latin script (Aa, Bb, Cc,..etc.).

Script 2: vertical writing traditional

Japanese style

Example of Kanji, Hiragana and Rõmaji & meaning in English

日本 I (に) 本(ほん) I にほん Nihon Japan

Example of Katakana, Rõmaji & meaning in English

インド Indo India

Sounds interesting, isn't it?!!!! Why wait!!!! Reach us...